3D Paper Craft

Looking for ways to make my planets into a 3D format, I came across these instructions to make 3D Paper Ball Ornaments which I was really excited by.

My first attempt at the ornament template went really well, and I used the front cover of our course handbook as it had lots of patterns on it and was good practise before using my own images. I really like the way the view of the ornament changes as you move closer and can make out the individual patterns of each piece.

It turned out really well and was fairly easy to make, which got me keen to try out the process using my own images. It was a sigh of relief as I’d finally worked out how I wanted to translate my planet images into a 3D format, as I think it better shows the transition from Jersey to Bournemouth.

Leave a comment